East Coast Salmon

Bobby.V

I've scoured the internet for definitive info but there's a lot of mixed info out there on Salmon fishing. Wondering if some experienced anglers can chime in as I'm new to salmon fishing and haven't managed to catch anything yet. I'm based on NSW Central Coast, 1hr north of Sydney.

Best time of year for salmon?

Best time of day to target?

Best lure/s and most effective time to use it vs bait?

Best bait/s for salmon?

Best conditions? ie. big surf swell vs calm waters

Thanks guys, all info appreciated and hopefully I can land one soon!

Entrance beach  birdie bch  moonee  catho  al have salmon now  early morn  late arvo best but if schools are in close during day  throw 65 gm raiders and hang on  pilchards or garfish as bait  and plenty of headlands to spin from   catho moonee wybung  norah  redhead  further nth well worth trying    they are comin into swansea channel on run in tide   lots around at moment  you cant miss the schools rippling the surfsce and covered in birds

1 hour ago, rickmarlin62 said:

Entrance beach  birdie bch  moonee  catho  al have salmon now  early morn  late arvo best but if schools are in close during day  throw 65 gm raiders and hang on  pilchards or garfish as bait  and plenty of headlands to spin from   catho moonee wybung  norah  redhead  further nth well worth trying    they are comin into swansea channel on run in tide   lots around at moment  you cant miss the schools rippling the surfsce and covered in birds

Thanks for the info Rick

FWIW, I fish the beaches on the southern end of the Central Coast a couple of times a week and haven't caught a salmon, haven't seen one caught, and haven't even seen one in the water for a couple of months now.

I think  I'll be coming up to your end and giving them a shot tomorrow.

Would by the Magenta Resort be a good place to go ?

9 minutes ago, Volitan said:

Thanks for the info Rick