Where do you fish in the Hawkesbury?

Jew_Master06

Hi FishRaider Members,

Does any one fish the Hawkesbury River? If so I have been catching a couple of fish. Some flatties just under 40cm and some 35cm Bream. I was just wondering if anyone could share some of their tips on where they fish and what bait/lures they use. I would really like to catch a Jewfish or a Kingfish. I have a boat which can travel anywhere in the Hawkesbury. Any fishing tips would be most appreciated.

Happy Fishing,

Jew_Master06?

• Like 1

I cant comment on the Hawkesbury really, or kingfish for that matter, but I can comment on Mulloway.  I like to think of myself as a bit of a self taught expert with regards to mulloway haha.  

So much literature on Mulloway is out there mate, and I learnt by reading all that I could from magazines and forums just like this.  There is a "how to" specifically on mulloway on the fishraider site, start by reading this and putting it onto practise. 

Catching Mulloway on a regular basis is somewhat of a mean feat, the hours I have put in to them over the past 8 or so years I couldnt begin to divulge.  Add to that, the hours I put in just to catch bait to give me the best possible chance. 

Then you have those times, particularly when I began specifically and solely targeting them, the fishless, cold and soul destroying nights when you drop a fish, makes the times you net/boat them even better. 

Just the other night, I witnessed one swimming between a bridge pylon and my bait in the water for about an hour before it disappeared and I ended up with a donut.  But, from what I have learnt over they years, I did put myself in the right spot at the right time, so I dont really count this as a failure by any means.