Shoalhaven

Sweet lip

Firstly hi to everyone.  

This is my first time participating in a forum in relation to my beloved sport, that i don't get to do anywhere close to what i would like due to my location. I am about to leave the red dust and dry paddocks to head out on a 7 hour trip east to the Shoalhaven district, for a five day R&R break. I would be very appreciative for any advice that any of you good people may be able to provide on tides, times, species, rigs and locations that may be a great starting point for us, particularly around Greenwell Point.

Cheers!

14 minutes ago, Sweet lip said:

Probably would have assisted a little bit! Yes we have a boat mate.

Well, I haven’t fished the area for many years but if your boat (and you and your crew) is offshore capable, I’d be heading straight to The Banks! Just be aware that the seas can be dangerous in S and SE winds.

If fishing in the river, it’s pretty good for flathead, bream etc.

The Crookhaven River and The Canal (the stretch of water linking the Crookhaven and Shoalhaven Rivers) fish well for flathead, drifting with baits or plastics. If you can manage it, drift along the channel edges, but you'll find fish out in the middle too.

There's plenty of rock walls and the like that hold bream in close and so many spots there's always somewhere out of the wind if its blowing hard. Jump onto google earth and you'll get a good idea of the river layout.

Personally, I've always found the lower half of the run out tide fishes best and if that coincides with dawn or dusk you have the prime time to be out there.

If you have a pump, there's plenty of flats that hold yabbies and if you can trap a few poddy mullet and fish them fresh, or better still live, you have the 2 prime baits in the area.

• Like 2