Braid line on roller tip game setups

feralcat

A bit of wisdom please......

I am pretty new to game fishing.

Target species....tuna. 

I have recently bought a couple of TLD 50s and a three TLD 25s 

Was thinking of pairing the 50s with  shimano back one elite 24kg rods, either fully rollered or roller tipped. 

And similar 15 kg rods for the 25s. 

My main question is.......

I was thinking of putting 50lb braid on the 50s with around 100m of mono.......similarly with the 25s using 15kg line. 

My thinking for doing this was as follows.

Firstly line capacity.

Secondly the thinner dimensions of the braid travel through the water better when you have a lot of line out. 

My concern is my choice or rod guides. 

Are the backbone rods rollers suitable for braid or should I go for non roller guides. 

Appreciate your help and feedback.....cheers

The main advantage of doing what you propose is to save money in the long run if you are fishing tournaments etc with a massive number of line changes . For normal fishing a "topshot" system will cost a heck of a lot of money up front to fill those reels with braid- why are you worried about line capacity, tuna fights are generally straight up and down? IMHO the backbone elites are too soft for trolling lures- you want to use a 24-37kg rod for 24kg line not a 15-24kg rod. If you are going to use a topshot- how confidant will you be when your knot goes for a swim?

Braid is fine on rollered rods  keep your rod pointed at line and straight  no probs   if chasin marlin use plenty of mono as topshot to take away the headshakes when jumping  mono gives a good shock absorber  i use 70 to 80mtrs 24kg on top of braid  hope you get some

On 12/2/2018 at 1:24 PM, PaddyT said: