WORMING FIRST ATTEMPT- FAIL

Keve707

I'm not a pro wormer but i'd say i'm okay

Don't fret too much, just be patient. 

It takes a lot of patience to be good at worming. it took me maybe 5 sessions before i could bag 10-20 worms in a session

Just make sure low wind and tides are on point.

If not, for beginners it can be quite tough.

Also, i find the quiet areas are better as they tend to not spook too easily. 

Good stink bag is important too. you really need their head to come out 1cm or more to get a good grip

Edited by Kevwing
  • Thanks 1

Not enough bait  not smelly enough  something rotten like old stingrays are best  if not let some frames n heads go off a bit then seal in large tupperware container and freeze...also i use finger bait in peice of stocking  the worms jaws get caught in it making them easier to catch

13 minutes ago, rickmarlin62 said:

Not enough bait  not smelly enough  something rotten like old stingrays are best  if not let some frames n heads go off a bit then seal in large tupperware container and freeze...also i use finger bait in peice of stocking  the worms jaws get caught in it making them easier to catch

Thanks for your reply mate.

• Thanks 1

I found that in Sydney, you need way stinkier bait.

I use to do that up in Coffs with a bag of pillies but in Sydney it just isn't enough because a lot of areas are wormed out. A pilly stink bag just isn't enough to bring out a heap and see where they are. Per a square Metre the amount of worms is less in Sydney and you need to cover more ground.

Some of the best things to use is like Jewfish skin or old fish carcass, I even braved the smell and dug out of the fish bins.. You really need something that has a good stink.

My mate use to use jewfish skin and left overs, let it simmer for a bit in the sun. Then he would take a piece of the belly as his teaser as it usually a bit rubbery and doesn't break up.