Sydney Harbour Fishing with a complete newbie

fragmeister

Hi Raiders,

This is actually a fishing report but here is a bit of preamble...

One of my mates ( Bob) is a complete newbie to fishing and never eats fish.

I have been telling him for years that if I only had access to supermarket or fish shop produce then I would probably never eat fish either but... its a very different equation to catch your own fish, treat it properly and cook it yourself.

He remained unconvinced so I offered to take him out and catch some Blue Spotted Flathead and then take it home and cook it for him.

Before heading out to the flathead grounds we sussed out North Head for any action. There was bait everywhere but the swell in close to the rocks was a little uncomfortable for Bob so after a few casts into the wash we headed off to drift off South Head in about 50m meters.

Bob is a pretty quick learner so after I had shown him a few times how to bait up and what constituted a bite worthy of a strike he was away.

Bob Caught his bag limit in about 3 hours while I watched and cheered.  I settled for just a couple of Blue Spots myself that I would keep and cook up for him later that day.

The size of the fish was excellent and most of Bob's were around the same size as the  2 two I kept.

There were plenty of small flatties taking the bait too so we had to take particular care to mark the spots where the larger ones seemed to be.

There was no wind , very little current and of course not, a lot of drift so I actually used the Minkoda to push us along.

IMG_0893.thumb.jpg.d2fd6d1532173183ea7d3f03fff5a77b.jpg

While we were out we saw schools of Bonito probably 1 k offshore and managed to spin up a few each time the schools came by for use as bait.

We also saw a pod of hunting Dolphins which was really cool ... the were leaping clear of the water catching fleeing fish in mid-air. I have never seen such a flurry of activity.