Help reading my sounder images

YZ250

Hi All, I have attached some screen shots from my first trip out with my new sounder.  Its a Lowrance Hook2 7x, and its the first sounder I have ever owned.  The shots were from a trip to lake Gininnderra which is an ornamental lake in Canberra which is full of carp and redfin and also stocked with Golden Perch and Murray Cod.  I have marked up some questions on the screenshots regarding what the sounder is picking up.  I installed it myself, and followed Lowrance's instructions. 

Grateful for any assistance and advice re what I am seeing and tuning or adjustment if you think its required.

Brendan

Sounder 1.jpg

Sounder 2.jpg

Sounder 3.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Brendan,

I'm far from a sounder expert but here is how I'd interpret what you're seeing.

1st image I'd call that clutter or potentially a bait school but very hard to tell from that screenshot.

2nd image possibly bubbles, they will generally start at bottom and you'll see them rising through the water.

The down scan on the 2nd and the 3rd image I'd say that would be the thermocline. No surprise to see the fish holding in that area.

Hopefully this helps and someone can shed some more light on it for you cheers,

Trav.

Firstly these screen shots are in extremely shallow water, couldn't you simply  look over the side of the boat and see any of those markings.

Totally agree with above, first looks like small bait fish with potentially a bigger fish cruising around them.

2nd looks like thermo cline ( cold water at the bottom) with a couple of arches of fish that have passed under the transducer and the other lines possibly fish at the sides of the transducer.

3rd I would guess as thermocline again.