Fitting New Live Bait Tank Pump

Berleyguts

So, the pump for my live bait tank is RS. I picked up a new one today and am trying to figure out how to wire it up. The original well and pump was factory fitted at Stacer. I’m thinking I should just be able to replace the cartridge but the wiring is integral to the cartridge. It will be a pain in the backside to trace the wires all the way forward to the fuse box under the console. Can the wires for the new cartridge simply be spliced into the existing wires close to the pump?

Appreciate your help.

17 minutes ago, Plethora said:

Yes - just cut the two pump wires and splice in new ones - (I would solder and use heat shrink to keep moisture out) not just use crimps 

Thanks. That should make it easier. As I’m a novice at this, I might ask my neighbour over the road for help. I just found out he’s a retired auto electrician. 😎

10 minutes ago, Welster said:

I bought waterproof crimps from memory.    Did you buy a rule pump? I never had any luck with Johnson pumps.     Might be a good time to change to pressure hose as well. 

I bought another Johnson as (a) this one has served me 5 years and I think it’s gone because I’ve been running it non stop, even while underway; I think the last long trip to the FAD really put a strain on it; and (b) it would be a straightforward fit - I can simply pop the new cartridge into the existing housing. I can change the hoses down track - that’s something I think I can manage!

• Like 1

39 minutes ago, Berleyguts said:

I bought another Johnson as (a) this one has served me 5 years and I think it’s gone because I’ve been running it non stop, even while underway; I think the last long trip to the FAD really put a strain on it; and (b) it would be a straightforward fit - I can simply pop the new cartridge into the existing housing. I can change the hoses down track - that’s something I think I can manage!

I don’t think it matters if it’s on underway I don’t turn mine off.