New kayak fisher

JimC

Hi all. I am considering getting a kayak for fishing. If I am honest it is that I need the exercise. I don't want over the top expenditure as I am on a pension and have a muscular problem and have to live on prednisone to function. I am also 105 kg, hence the need for exercise. I would consider a pedal model and if possible a small sail. What kayak would you recommend for a novice? I am a keen fisherman hence my membership here. Maybe someone here might have a serviceable but older model they might like to part with. Jim

I am fairly new to the kayak scene aswell and recently purchased myself a pedal kayak, just for the hands free experience. They arnt cheap compared to their traditional paddle counterparts but are defiantly worth it. The kayak i purchased is commonly known as the REVOLVE 10 kayak. which sits around 1,500$. I got mine of bay sports under the name "pedal pro fish". 
Ill list a few pros and cons with this kayak after taking it out 15 odd times during the winter.

pros;
-  i was quite surprised with its stability and how it sits on the water (you can stand up in it if the waters calm and your balance is good)
-  pedal drive system is quite and has no resistance 
- plenty of leg room (im around 6'' 2)
- heaps of places to mount extra rod holders, sounders, lights

- handles chop and wake pretty well. 

- really comfy chair which has storage straps under it. (i never use them)

- has a good cruising speed and can go pretty quick when going all out

- good turning circle with the rudder 

cons; 

- fills up with water through the rails when washing it down (or flips) because the screws arnt water tight and the water a pain to remove. It dosnt gain not alot of water.

- Pedal drive pins didn't line up with the cut outs in the hull. I fixed this with a lighter and a razor blade.

- Its heavy. I recommend a kayak trolley.