new fisho to freshwater

marks1984

hey hey how is everyone? I am new to carp fishing just a few questions.

I will be fishing in a fairly small dam which I know there is carp, do the following questions have any significance

sun rise, morning, lunch time, late afternoon, night

high or low barometer

Hi mate in the dams I fish for carp first and last light are definitely peak times to catch them but this may be more to do with the amount of boat activity in the area during the day. In saying that I have caught them all hours of the day especially in water with enough clarity to sight fish for them.

I have never taken any notice of the barometer when targeting them.

• Like 2

What they said. Just go for it!. Best baits: Earthworms, corn kernels, bread dough, freshwater shrimps. Primarily bottom feeders so that's a good place to start but they are targeted on the surface using fly fishing methods also. Good luck, bn

• Like 1

18 hours ago, marks1984 said:

What about season winter or summer 

In an environment like a small dam you can catch them any time of year. They are prolific breeders and survive when other fish perish. They feed continuously swimming with their heads down and sucking up all the mud. In Summer they are likely to be feeding on things floating on the surface. bn

• Like 1

On 12/5/2019 at 9:46 AM, marks1984 said:

thanks guys I know bread n corn catches them is one better than the other? and what about soft plastics