Beach rod Combo? $110 budget need help

JamoDamo

Hi Raiders,

I have recently found an interest in buying a beach rod for beach fishing. I bought an 8ft Shakespeare 4-8kg combo for $67.75 from a shop just yesterday, the conditions were hard to get any bites as I used a small sinker, which I later upgraded to a heavier one but I couldn't keep it from drifting over the beach hence I couldn't feel bites and couldn't fish. The conditions were 2-4 ft waves with 15 kn winds. I think the rod will suffice but I just need some input on if I should take the rod back (called to see if I could they said yes) to see if I should buy a shimano 12ft 6-8 kg rod with an fx 4000 size reel.

Thanks for the help sorry if my question isn't very clear.

Thanks JamoDamo

I'd take it back if I was you and let the guys know how grateful you are for allowing you to return it after being used.

I'm no expert on budget gear but for a general purpose beach rod, 12 foot is about right. Check the casting weight on the rod and get yourself a couple of star sinkers to match the heaviest rating, plus a couple of lighter ones and that should get you started.

Learn to read a beach and often when there's a cross sweep current you can find a hole where all that water is running back out to sea. Fish there, or walk your bait along the beach with the current to cover some territory.

• Like 4

Jamo just keep the rod you bought, save you buying it again because you know you will want it & need it down the track for another application.

Not sure who takes back a used rod though unless it has a fault?

If we, all fisherman just had 3 rods then we are genius's 😁

On holding the sand when you talk about sinkers are you using proper beach sinkers?

Edited by kingie chaser
  • Like 1

Thank you so much for the help guys I was completely clueless on where to start. The guys at a shop said that as long as it was in sellable condition and had no faults and was as good as new they said I could take it back!