Refining the uni knot

Volitan

I have been tying the uni knot for probably 30 years and for all that time I’ve wondered what is the optimum number of turns, or if it even matters. Today I decided it was time I answered the question.

The original 1944 specification for the knot was for 3 turns. I decided to start there but got slippage, so assume that back in 1944 lines were different then they are today. Then I tried 4, 5, 6 and 8 turns. I have heard people claiming as many as ten turns is ideal.

As you can see from the attached spreadsheet, the differences are not great. The optimum number of turns works out to be around 5 or 6. I doubt either of these results will surprise anyone.

Note that the result for 8 turns starts to get a bit erratic.

Using Penn Super X in 20 lbs (real tested breaking strain was 25.5lbs, the line is underrated by manufacturer).

For those who cant download:

3 turns – slippage occurred on 4 of 5 tests

4 turns – average = 23.4lbs

5 turns – average = 24.3lbs

6 turns – average = 24.4lbs

8 turns – average = 23.7lbs

While I was at it, I thought I’d try comparing the double loop uni to the single. I’ve heard people say that the single loop is actually a better knot because it provides almost the same strength without the slight unreliability that comes from drawing up a double loop.

Using 6 turns around the mainline, the results for were:

Double loop – average = 24.4lbs

Single loop – average = 20lbs

So wrong, not even close.

FYI, by double loop uni I mean two turns through the hook eye.

I also use the uni knot for braid, so one day soon I’ll test that too.

Optimising the uni knot.xlsx

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

Nice work! I've always tended to lean towards a locked half blood knot (not sure why, probably because it was the first knot I learnt) for terminal tackle.

I do however use Uni knot for heavier/thicker diameter leaders (40lb and up).