Best boat ramps for beginners

NewbieBoatie

Hey there!

I am a newbie boatie. If weather is good this Sunday, I'm hoping to take the boat out! We're a bit nervous though, with the whole boat ramp situation. 

Where's the best boat ramp for beginners near me? I'm based in Blacktown, NSW. I read that Woy Woy was a good one for Central Coast-ers. Any more closer by? 

Edited by NewbieBoatie

Before you head to a boat ramp hook the boat up and head to your local shopping centre after hours. Practice reversing and parking with the trailer on to build up your confidence first.

Ramps can be daunting places the first couple of times especially on weekends when they are busy.

• Like 1

39 minutes ago, NewbieBoatie said:

I'm based in Blacktown, NSW.

The ramp at the end of Rydalmere is a good one, just beware of the river cat ferries, but if you look up and down the river and launch when they are not around it will be a easy launch.

If you do have the trailer in the water and a river cat comes past don't worry to much just hold the boat down and wait for the 4 waves to pass and then proceed to launch.

Rhodes ramp is also another ramp, its a little quieter than Rydalmere and the ferry wash isn't as big as the ferries are slowing to stop across the river at Meadowbank.

Remember everyone started out fresh, just take your time, Do your checklist (Bung, Straps, Battery on, bow rope) if nervous let anyone around you know its your first time and you will find they will lend a hand and help.

Don't release the safety chain until the trailer / boat is in the water

I would also put the engine on the ear muffs / tank at home and start / run it before leaving, saves sitting at the ramp with a motor not starting.

Deep breath and relax it will be great.

Long weekends can be extra busy, 

Edited by jeffb5.8
  • Like 3