Rod building for Alvey reels

Wiskas

Hi all

I’m wanting some information regarding rod building. I have no experience but I’d like to start building my own rods. I’m only interested in building low mount rods for Alvey reels. Could the learned members point me in the direction of a teacher that may be willing to help out a newbie (payed lessons of course) or perhaps recommend any good books on the subject. I’m located in Moss Vale, NSW. 

Cheers 

Wiskas

Good on you for having a go! Building your own rods is very satisfying! It’s a bit old school and basic but see if you can find a copy of Understanding Fishing Tackle by Dick Lewers. You might find it in your local library. It has a section on rod building and covers the basics, e.g. finding the backbone of the blank, reel seat and runner placement, under binding/overbinding, sealing, lacquering etc. With a book like this and some pointers from a quality tackle store, you’ll soon be on your way.

Hi Waza

I’m really starting from scratch. At this stage I’d like to build myself a nice light beach rod chasing whiting etc. Something simple to start with. Perhaps some of the more Decorative stuff once I’ve learned the basics. 

Hi,

Many years ago while at uni I worked in a tackle shop and built a number of rods. In the nearly 50 years I've been fishing since then I've made and repaired nearly all my own rods plus rods for mates.

Hold the rod tip against a ceiling and flex the rod. Turn the rod in your hands while flexing it and it will will usually feel most comfortable or "right" in a certain position and this will guide you to the axis along which you place your runners.