Braids, Knots & Leaders

strex

Kinda Newbie here been fishing for a while but on the path to learn more....  I've recently converted most of my reels from Mono to Braid - some larger 7500 reels and 4000 reels.. Not chasing anything in particular, so here's the thing - On my 4000 reel on advice it was suggested that I run a 15lb braid, then a leader being 20lbs.  My questions are?

How much leader should I run from the braid to the swivel and how much from the swivel to the hook?

I usually use a free sinker above the swivel .. but notice that some of the sinkers get caught on the knot joining the braid to the mono, the knot also gets caught in the line guides on the rod. The knot I'm using is a double uni knot and I trim the excess quite tight... What am I doing wrong?

So using the 15lb braid - Can I simply change the leader to an 8lb leader with a smaller hook if I decide to change my rig at any time or will I be seriously compromised by having a heavier braid.

Thanks all.

Have a look at the FG knot.  I use that, as well as the double uni.  FG knot goes through the guides a lot easier.  Yes you can use 8lb leader and 15lb braid. I generally use 1.5 to 2m of leader.

p.s.  I rarely use a swivel

Edited by Killer

Guest Guest123456789

You only need to run mono from braid to swivel if you are using a paternoster (which you’re not). If the sinker is getting caught in the braid knot try a small piece of 2mm plastic tube - you can buy from a hardware store cheaply then cut it up to suit. 

50cm to 1 metre mono leader from swivel to hook/lure is fine - and longer and you won’t be able to cast unless you have a really long rod.

you can definitely fish lighter leader than your braid. Bear in mind heavier braid means less casting distance and more affected by current so normally you have the same or lighter braid than your leader.

42 minutes ago, Killer said: