ARTICLE - Koalaboi’s BLACKFISHING TIPS

mrsswordfisherman

Koalaboi’s Blackfishing Tips

I have been fishing for blackfish since about 1969. I am sure that other experienced luderick fishers may not fish the way I do and, that they would certainly have many tips and ideas that would improve my fishing that I have never considered. 

This is no way a complete guide to the dark art, but, these techniques and tackle have worked well for me and I hope they help some FRs get onto a feed or two.

1. Tackle: 

I prefer a 2-piece rod for ease of transport. I have lots of rods; find one that has lots of give in the top third and a bit of muscle below. Fishing the ocean rocks will usually need a longer stronger stick than in the estuaries. The Velcro hand attachments from childrens’ body board leashes are great for keeping your two-piece rod together when travelling.

I recommend using a centrepin reel for their direct feel and ease of giving line quickly as well as, applying drag by finger or palm pressure to the rim of your reel.

Casting tangle-free, accurate throws with a centrepin is simple but requires practice. Basically, hold the rod with your bottom hand so you can rest a finger on the spool to check it. Bring the rod back over your shoulder with your top hand and load the rod by moving it forward. Take your finger off the spool and let it fly. Dampen the spool with your palm to prevent an overrun once the float hits the water.

You don’t need to cast too far so don’t be too powerful, a gentle lob does the trick in most situations.

In time you will learn to improve by loading your rod with your backswing to enable greater distance and power to deal with adverse winds as well as cast both sides and, with one hand etc.

By using a centrepin you are continuing the old tradition of blackfish angling and its ancestor, coarse fishing.