Rod vs Reel Size

98SCS

Hi guys, I am fairly new to fishing, have just bought a new rod that takes 8-10KG, however I couldn't find a reel I really liked so am just using one of my old 4000 shimano reels..... 

I have got 10kg line on my rod... doesn't seem to be a problem, but I am just wondering what you guys think?? 

What model is the reel?

They can vary in drag for the same size quite a bit.

I have a 4000 Symetre Fl & has 7kg of drag but a 4000 stradic has 11kg of drag!

Either way I think your reel will be fine with the rod

Edited by kingie chaser
  • Thanks 1

5 hours ago, 98SCS said:

Hi guys, I am fairly new to fishing, have just bought a new rod that takes 8-10KG, however I couldn't find a reel I really liked so am just using one of my old 4000 shimano reels..... 

I have got 10kg line on my rod... doesn't seem to be a problem, but I am just wondering what you guys think?? 

It might be handy if you tell us how long your rod is?

Balance wise, with any reel, there's a big difference between a 7 foot boat rod and a 13 foot beach rod of the same load rating.

• Thanks 1

4 hours ago, kingie chaser said:

What model is the reel?

They can vary in drag for the same size quite a bit.

I have a 4000 Symetre Fl & has 7kg of drag but a 4000 stradic has 11kg of drag!

Either way I think your reel will be fine with the rod

I am not quite sure how to tell?? 

On 7/28/2020 at 3:16 PM, Rebel said:

Welcome aboard.

Where did you buy the rod ? If it was a tackle shop they will advise you. Oherwise just experiment,but a 4000 should be okay.

Cheers.

Thank you. Bought the rod at a well known large tackle shop have used it a few times fishing and haven’t had any issues, however haven’t caught anything huge on this rod yet.. Biggest catch on this rod was a rock cod 40cm

Edited by mrsswordfisherman
No bypassing banned words please

4 minutes ago, Green Hornet said:

It might be handy if you tell us how long your rod is?