braid for surf casting

Mr_clownface

Hi there,

I have a 9'6ft savage gear rod and a fin nor lethal 40 i use for casting metal lures of the beach(i am new to lure fishing)

i want to buy some quality braided line for it and was wondering about the amount of line it says on the spool.

example 8lb/270yds....12lbs/200yds...

does this refer to mono or braid or both?

i want to buy 20lb of good quality braid

i suspect i need to buy 300yds of braid because you can cast a fair distance surf casting and 150yds just may not be enough

any brand recomendations is welcome also

yes i am new to braided line.

thanks in advance

4 minutes ago, savit said:

Fin noir lethal 40 reel has 270yards/ 30lb braid capacity from their website. If you want to save -  get 150yards of suggested 20lb braid and fill the rest of the spool with mono backing line.

thanks for your advice Savit,thats a good idea

1 hour ago, kingie chaser said:

I love fishing braid but I'm not a fan off the beach.

Braid tends to get wind knots & overlaps.

Each to their own.

Also the stretch in mono comes in handy when bringing a fish in through the surf.

• 2 weeks later...
On 9/3/2020 at 6:34 PM, kingie chaser said:

I love fishing braid but I'm not a fan off the beach.

Braid tends to get wind knots & overlaps.

Each to their own.

Today I learned exactly what you mean,spooled new jbraid and a handful of casts and wind knots,twice I had to remove and cut some line fortunatly not alot.

Casting a halco 30g twisty with 9"6ft savage gear rods.

I suspect the line is coming of the spool faster than the guides on the rod so bunches together to create knots .

Is there anyway to avoid this?

If I cast with a rod with bigger diameter guides would this help.

Any assistance is appreciated 👍

9 hours ago, Mr_clownface said:

Today I learned exactly what you mean,spooled new jbraid and a handful of casts and wind knots,twice I had to remove and cut some line fortunatly not alot.