Need Fishing gear advice

Azee

Hi Guys,

Being honest, i am an amateur when it comes to fishing but have spent quite a lot on fishing to minimal success but the motivation is still high lol

I am looking to buy a Rod + reel from Fishing r us tomorrow as they have a deal on.

I fish land based( No boat lol ) most at botany bay or Toms ugly bridge.

Can you please suggest me a decent Rod + reel which i should buy out of these below?

I use fresh bait not plastics. Usually prawns or squids.

Rods:

1 - Abu Garcia Ray rex

2 - Abu garcia Veritas

3- Penn Allay spin rod

4- Penn Mariner

5- Rapala maxwell

6- Storm Gomuku

Reels:

1- Abu garcia Pro max

2- Rapala maxwell

3- Abu garcia Blackmax

Welcome aboard.

Go to the shop and talkto the guys and tell them what type of fishing you want to do.

You can go to the Fishraider search engine, there is plenty of info. on there.

Good luck.

Cheers.

Rebel is right, you should tell the shop what fish you are chasing and how you fish (land based + baits) and they can suggest a combo. It's not just about brands - it's also about length and weight rating.

If you are fishing those spots it sounds like you are lobbing baits a distance? If so, you'd be looking at something like a 9ft, maybe 8kg+ rating and at least a 5000 sized reel (leaning towards 6000 min). From those spots, the biggest catch would be a decent jewie and maybe the random shark or two. Otherwise you'd be looking at typical bread and butter species - in which case lighter would be preferable (e.g. 7ft 3-6kg and 3000 sized reel) for a middle ground otherwise a standard bream combo. For distance make sure you use braid instead of mono - infact you might get some instant improvement by simply going to braid on your existing rod and reel if you haven't already switched over.

• Like 1