First time taking my new boat out in Sydney Harbour, need spot recommendations

cavepan

Hey all,
New user of the site here. 

A little background, I've always loved fishing and usually go regularly over the summer but if i'm honest I never really have any idea what I'm doing. I've always had poor quality gear and just go off the beach or rock wall in random spots around Sydney. Rarely catch anything but enjoy it none the less.

Recently decided I would wanted a boat so I could start fishing some different spots and get a little more serious about actually catching something. I did some logbook trips with my old man and got my license. Purchased an old 12' De Havilland Seabird with a 15hp Mariner. Boat is in good shape and I'm excited to start getting out as much as possible. 

While I've been out on my old man's boat a lot over the course of my life he wont be with me this weekend and it's my first time heading out with another mate. Was planning on potentially putting the boat in at Five Dock as it's a ramp I've been to a few times. 

My question is, where should I head for this first time? Heading straight into the harbour is a little intimidating. Would be nice to try for some flatties or bream. Maybe some squid if they are around. Preferably somewhere pretty chill as I am a bit nervous about the whole thing. After this first trip I may put up a post looking for someone more experienced to start coming along on trips. 

Thanks! 

G'day Dave, 

Thanks for all the info, I sent you a PM with my number etc. Good call on the Sydney Harbour side of things. Does freak me out a bit as a first time trip. Would definitely be keen to meet up. We were planning to go early Saturday morning trying our best to avoid a busy ramp. My worst nightmare is having anyone watch me trying to reverse a trailer haha. Maybe we could scoot out, and tee up with you later on.