Bermagui/Lake Wallaga

Fish_More

Hi all

Have a site booked at Lake Wallaga for 2 weeks in January.  My wife will be there the whole time but I will only be there the second week.  Will be bringing an offshore boat (if the weather forecast is good) and hopefully a still to be acquired kayak for the river or lake.

Any guidance on places to give a go in the area, offshore, lake or river and also is the lake open to the ocean at the moment?

Only other thing is not sure how much fishing will get done as there is a brewery at the caravan park!  More importantly, does anybody know what their beers are like?

Mark

Cant help you with the fishing there as we go a bit further south and fish Wapengo, which is a shallow lake but fishes well.

The Bega river also fishes well, pump your nippers on the low tide and fish the start of the run in as the water starts running in over the Sand/Ribbon weed banks.

I'm no expert down that way, others would have more knowledge the myself but that's a good starting point.

As for Camel Rock Brewery, when I was down there in JulyI had a couple of Beers and they weren't to bad and I also had a paddle which would be a good starting point.

IMG_2508.jpeg

On another note take a walk up to Horse Head Rock, some great photos are to be had and a great view.

Edited by Blackfish

I guess like all lakes, rivers and so on, if you know what you're doing, you will catch fish, fresh pumped Nippers are always a good starting point, fishing where fish are likely to be doesn't change from place to place, and "secret spots" are the same along the entire coast. When fishing new locations I tend to just get a light spin rod, a few plastics in my pocket and "wander" you will soon find weed banks, channels, logs and rocky reefs, all potential new secret spots, and likely pick up a Flathead or other odds and ends while exploring, having a Kayak makes it 50 times easier, because you can cross the river or fish from tricky spots with ease.