Pole fishing

Little_Flatty

Hi all,

Having been spending a bit of time lately chasing garfish/mullet, I was starting to think of more efficient and kid-friendly techniques to land gars and other baitfish.

One thing that came to mind was a handline (Like Pickles and Yowie use to catch bait) and the other thing that came up was a pole. When I studied for a year in China, I remember that they had some really long and light fibreclass or carbon poles, with a 'lilian' at the end to attach your line. This is the one I bought: 5f9bb8227727331966e34234-large.jpg?cache

I managed to get my hands on one for 20 dollars including postage and it arrived surprisingly quickly. I bought a 3m model (the model is called 3.6 but they say they are shorter than that). Whilst it could be cheaply constructed, having no guides or reel seat makes it beautifully light and a reasonably crisp action. This is a (pretty bad) pic of the rod in the field:

image.thumb.png.c6e55084e514d4d9a75ecfe19245f8ba.png

I had to do a bit of research on how to attach lines to these poles, but thankfully the Tenkara fly fishing brigade use very similar rods (at 15 times the price) and a bit of googling gave me what I needed. I ended up taking a slightly different approach to the Tenkara brigade, tying a knot in the lillian but then using a length of braid to bind it back on itself into a loop:

image.thumb.png.48d9a2bf4123b51bac65da223e28fe9d.png

That way I could pre-tie a rig with a snap on the end, which makes changing from float rig to bait jigs very easy. I'm planning to keep a few rigs on a piece of foam like this, all tied on 4lb flurocarbon:

image.thumb.png.5736c575869d824e44eac3190637e945.png