lures to use for pelagics esp kings and bonitos

bkk

im fairly new to lure fishing and I would like to know which lures would be recommended. I am planning to get the 5 inch pearl zman minnowz and the chrome slices from kmart (but i have heard the hooks are bad will i have to replace them?).
i already have the minnowz bad shad and some topwater minnow lures from jarvis walker.
could do please give any suggestions for both metal and soft plastics?

thanks

Hi BKK,

Welcome to the forum.

Be warned - once you get used to catching them on lures it gets addictive (and potentially expensive).

To assist with your question what gear are you using?

I usually run two outfits to chase kings in Sydney harbour.

The bream gear (2-4kg graphite rod, 2500 size shimano reel and 4lb braid with 8lb leader) when the pelagics are in the harbour chasing the small baitfish. I use 3 or 4" minnows with a TT bullet head jig head. 10 gram silver halco twisties are also very effective.

The snapper gear (5-8kg graphite rod, 4000 size shimano reel and 15lb braid with 30lb leader). For this I like the 6 or 9" slapstix matched with a weighted TT jighead so I can work the full water column. Alternatively the heavier (say 30g or 40g depending on your rod rating) Halco twisties with a very fast retrieve work a treat.

I prefer to change out the trebles for a similar sized single. I don't feel the hook up rate is noticeably worse and it doesn't tear up the face of a fish as much. Try unhooking a wriggling tailor when it has all three hooks in its mouth. Also I feel like for like the singles are generally a little stronger than the trebles.

Regards,

Derek

Edited by DerekD
  • Like 2

18 hours ago, Pickles said:

For Kingies it’s is hard to go past a white Sluggo (I often use on X2 weed less 7/0) and just let it drift to the Bottom (also caught salmon when floating in the burley trail)

18 hours ago, noelm said: