Fishing diary

Little_Flatty

Hi all,

For those who keep a fishing diary, what do you use?

Decided to up my game a little bit over the coming year and start keeping a fishing diary. I think an electronic version is an obvious choice, firstly because you can use your phone to capture the information and secondly because I am a data analyst by trade and I am fascinated by the idea of a data-driven insights into my fishing. I've set myself a goal to log 50 trips over the coming 12 months and see what comes of the data points collected.

I reviewed a number of apps/online fishing diaries and found most of them lacking in one way or another. Though it is nice to have maps - which most had - they had glaring omissions such as no place to record tides and also no option to record anything when you have a donut; often there are situations where I might not have caught anything but have learned something important, such as the location of deeper water or presence of flathead lies on a low tide etc.

So far I've ended up making my own google form:

image.thumb.png.77845044f3ae0c68ed13e1a2107998b6.png

Which captures data in a google sheet:

image.thumb.png.253ec2180186e382b9dc62d021e49f22.png

Eventually I'm planning to API in more detailed weather, tide and moon phase information based on the session details, but surely it can't be that hard! Owing to my line of work I'm not afraid of writing a bit of code, but I find it hard to believe that any of these ideas are original and thus someone must have done this already...

But if I need to continue, I suspect using a combination an app to record a session and then completing the form based on this information, might be my go-to.

Any thoughts?

Mike

• Like 3

I think the important determinants are tide, wind, swell, location, time of year, time of day, target species and bait.