V4 Johnson 90hp help

Alex75

Hi Guys 

Need some help, due to somethings happening I haven't been able to start my boat in over 2 months, I started it today and all this dirty oil water came out and on the side look like old was coming out of the side see the below video.

I took it out over 6months ago and washed it and flushed it. 

If anyone can help me out if this means somethings  wrong or do I need to take it out and open it up.

I'm new to boating and repairs this is something for my son and I to learn on and update later on, so any help would be great. 

ED49723B-8AD3-4400-8514-95A5ABC1D20D.thumb.jpeg.6d875fe0012a536741e02473aee33521.jpeg

Looks like you are using engine oil instead of proper two stroke oil , that is the milky oil on the ground . Also the un burnt oil running out of the lower leg . The engine would have been running like a dog , 

2 minutes ago, oldtown said:

Looks like you are using engine oil instead of proper two stroke oil , that is the milky oil on the ground . Also the un burnt oil running out of the lower leg . The engine would have been running like a dog , 

I definitely used two stroke oil, it was running great last time we took it out. 

Is it VRO?

When the VRO fails, in my experience, they over oil.

In my case large amounts of unburned oil through the exhaust, particularly after a period of extended lay up.

I had oil under the cowling and running down the leg (the outboards, not mine!), as well as black unburned oil from the prop exhaust.

If that is your issue, replacement is expensive.

I chose to replace mine, but the cheaper and probably more reliable alternative is to convert to premix by installing a blanking kit to the VRO.

Good luck, I hope you get it properly diagnosed and sorted.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, tryhard said:

Is it VRO?

When the VRO fails, in my experience, they over oil.

In my case large amounts of unburned oil through the exhaust, particularly after a period of extended lay up.