Inflatable Catamaran and 40lb electric motor opinions?

Leap

Hi there

I am new to boats and was looking through and was thinking to get a Bris 3.3 catamaran with a 40 lb electric motor.

Hoping to go down the yarra in melbourne and back.

What are your thoughts on this set up?

I'm not sure if this is a good idea cost wise and practicality wise. I chose a catamaran as i thought it would go faster easier, can get in and out of the boat from the front easier; inflatable as it can fit the boot of a car, 40lb as wouldn't need paperwork and registration; the bris seems to have more protection on the sides and bottom compared to a few others and is a reasonable size and weight rating so wouldn't be too cramped. 

Thinking to go fishing one day with it or go along the coast line one day.

All your thoughts and opinions appreciated!

I'm no expert but the electric probably wouldn't be a good option for a primary motor on an inflatable cat or any cat, I don't think it would drive it effectively especially if the wind gets up and being in a busy waterway full of large vessels. 

Sounds like it would be a fun challenge. However the amp draw is pretty high on a 40, even a 350w (17amp) solar panel and lithium battery would help re-power but not keep up with demand all day. It comes down to how far you want to travel (or run the electric at full power) each day. It could be done but the cost of getting power back to your system gets pretty expensive. Im currently setting up my 4x4 with solar and lithium for lighting and fridge etc (small power draw) and the price for half decent gear soon mounts up.

I think that given the wind catching ability of an inflatable and the fact you could also have current to contend with, you would be very limited in your range.  Look at the weight of a modern petrol motor vs lecky and battery, and compare power output, you may find your better off going the smelly option?  Ron