What size boat?

Salvatore

Hi all,

Firstly, apologies for the newbie question. I'm new to boating (will be getting my license next month) and am looking for some advice on my first boat.

Looking for a boat mostly for estuary and bay fishing but might go futher afield in nice weather. Planning on fishing about half the time on my own and half the time with my wife and two kids (about 10 years old) and maybe on a very rare occassion with third adult in the boat with my family. I mostly fish for bread and butter species.

Was hoping to get something with a reasonably powered motor and a minn kota or similar for spot lock. Looking to spend somewhere around the 20-25k mark second hand.

Now finally for the question - I've been looking around and it seems a Quintrex Renegade in either 440 or 460 might fit the bill but wondering if I would get away with a 420?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide!

Cheers,

Salvatore

The 420 is a small boat compared to the 460, way smaller....it mightn't seem like much but the difference is huge, the 420 will be "adequate" with 2 adults and one child, but it will be very "cosy" with an extra adult. Don't be blinded by the name, Stacer and Savage come out of the same factory and are often much cheaper. A 420 in any kind if chop is going to be slow going and bumpy, and only a very good day to take one in the ocean, it's a small boat! Go to a dealer and compare them all, most will have all models in stock.

• Like 1

11 minutes ago, noelm said: